Where Lightning Strikes(Bleeding Stars #3) Review

Where Lightning Strikes (Bleeding Stars #3)– A.L Jackson

5hearts

Heart Rating – 5 out of 5!!

Tamar (Red) is sassy, fiery and does the only thing she can to survive – hide. Creating a safe world without having to look over her shoulder is the where she has found somewhere to be who she wants to be – someone without their past shadowing over her, pinning her down. Then Lyrik West had to come and create the waves that rocked the boat. Can she allow herself to be swept up in the life of a rockstar?

Lyrik and Sunder (the band he is lead guitarist in) have been through hell and back. No exaggeration. He has tried so damned hard to do the right thing by those he is loyal to, for the longest time. The beautiful bartender with the flame red hair enters his circle and he can’t help but be pulled in. His emotions pulling him to do all the things he swore he never would again. Can this broken man be struck to life again by her? 

So, I didn’t ‘read’ this, more like, listened to it through audible. I have been a little skeptical about audio books because I always ‘hear’ the characters voice as I’m reading and when I tried to read The Hobbit (sorry, listen to) I just couldn’t listen to the poncey (no-doubt, talented) voice actor working a little too hard to convey the excitement/horrors in the book, it made me give up on audio-books and think ‘I like the voices my imagination comes up with better’.

I listened to another audio book around a week ago and it was 100 times better, in terms of voice acting so I thought, why not try my fav author’s audio-book? Done deal. I just finished it and seriously think I could be hooked on listening to all of A.L Jackson’s audio books. Not only for her writing but for Andi Arndt and Sebastian York’s narrations. They are fantastic.

Anyway on to what I thought of WLS…

One of the things I love about AL’s books is that she deals with the kinds of stories some authors seem too scared to write. Tragically, heart-ripping situations that she miraculously turns into HEA – but the characters work hard for it, which for me, makes it all the more real. Love is hard. Life is hard. But it’s worth it. I really felt this through WLS, not only were the emotions so raw and painful to hear/read, but they were simply raw emotions on their own. There was no need to explain emotions because Amy’s writing is just so clear, that you just feel it. No extra words needed.

I adored Tamar. She was so independent when she could have just given up and caved. And that is something I always try to stick to (not easy) which made me feel like I had a little bit of her in me =)

“You can either let the events of your life define you, or you make sure they have no hold over shaping who you are” – is what I have always said and tried to live by.

While Tamar may think that she is running, she chose to do what was best for her at the time. And I think I’d have done the same. This is what AL’s writing does – makes you think about you being in their shoes, but on such a deep level. I think she might be my hero. (Both AL and Red hahah)

Lyrik was written sooo well. His POV was just spot on. Just because he was a male, his emotional turmoil was no less important than Red’s. Which is how it should be, but it makes me forget that AL (female) is writing the part for a male. I don’t mean that to sound derogatory but that’s what makes me love alternating POV books – because I don’t want to think about the author til I need to review! Hehe.

The love Lyrik has to give is just immense and even when there were times I might’ve wanted to punch him (well, only once. Really hard.) as soon as it flipped to his POV I found myself wishing I could take that hypothetical fist right back.

All in all – this book has to share my #1 standalone spot with Adriana’s Written In The Scars, because I physically can’t give it any higher. I often think of little things I’d like to have seen done differently but I can honestly say that there isn’t a single thing I would want to see written differently.

I’ve only discovered AL Jackson within the last 8 months or so, and the first series I read was The Regret Series. Which is my absolute-to-infinity-and-beyond fav series. And although from the same author, The Bleeding Stars Series and The Regret Series are totally different. AL truly has such a diverse writing ability and here are the links to get your hands on Lyrik and Tamar! 😉

Audible UK – http://www.audible.co.uk/pd/Fiction/Where-Lightning-Strikes-Audiobook/B01G9D77NY

Audible US – http://www.audible.com/pd/Fiction/Where-Lightning-Strikes-Audiobook/B01G9D77NY

Amazon UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01D46WHNY/ref=x_gr_w_bb?ie=UTF8&tag=x_gr_w_bb_uk-21&linkCode=as2&camp=1634&creative=6738

Amazon US – https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01D46WHNY/ref=x_gr_w_bb?ie=UTF8&tag=x_gr_w_bb_uk-21&linkCode=as2&camp=1634&creative=6738

Hope you liked my thoughts on WLS 

Read, Dream, Love.

E xx

Leave a Reply

